Dragon’s Crown or Those sure are some nice titties…

No wonder she's not wearing a bra, I wouldn't know where to find one either.

No wonder she’s not wearing a bra, I wouldn’t know where to find one either.

Dragon’s Crown is the newest release by Vanillaware the company behind the PS2 games GrimGrimoire and Odin Sphere. There’s been a lot of controversy behind this game as release approached, and I’ll admit I was turned off by the overdone sexuality of the woman in the game, that is until I actually watched some game play of it on Twitch.

dcdwarves

Nice beard bro.

Having played the game, I find that everything is over the top, and while that doesn’t excuse that the over characterization of women is basically just sex in Dragon’s Crown, I can appreciate the idea behind the art style. I feel that while Dragon’s Crown highlights the much larger issue of how woman are depicted in media, it shouldn’t be overlooked because of it.

The game is really a solid release and I found myself playing it for 10 hours straight after we got it. I think really what turned me off was that very few of the main characters looked like my love Lillett Blan of GrimGrimoire, I felt a bit betrayed in a way I think, my memory of Vanillaware tainted.

lillet_art

Lillet…Don’t leave me!

As for the gameplay itself, it does hearken back to early Vanillaware titles, featuring side scrolling beat ’em up action (not entirely dissimilar to Odin Sphere) and 2D environments and character art to boot. So the moral of the story is, don’t judge a book by it’s cover, or in this case, it’s cup size.

Elf.(Dragon'S.Crown).full.632484

This entry was posted in Games, PS3, Reviews, Wendigo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

