Piers Anthony’s Xanth Series: Or how the old man stole my soul.

I was listening to an episode of This American Life on NPR recently and heard an amazing story about a kid named Andy, who when he was 15 in 1987, ran away from home to author Piers Anthony’s Florida home.

Here’s an article on io9 I found that it recounts the tale better than I can. http://io9.com/5931929/in-1987-a-young-fantasy-fan-ran-away-from-home-to-live-with-author-piers-anthony So after hearing him recant his tale and even a recorded phone call between him and Piers 20 years later, I decided that I would try and read one of the books by the author that inspired so much hope in the abused boy’s life.

You handsome Bastard...

You handsome Bastard…

I had no idea what I was getting myself into though … I hadn’t realized that Piers Anthony hadn’t just wrote a couple of books, he’s written over 140. I mean the man is 79 and he’s still got 2 books being published in October and December of this year.

Him being so prolific would have been bad enough, not only does he write a few books every year, but their god damn fun to read as well. I’ve read the first two novels of his Xanth series in 3 days… I’m trying my best not to get completely sucked into the 3rd novel just yet, but that’s not exactly working very well. The books themselves are whimsical and full of puns but done in a way that’s cheeky and intelligent rather than stupid.

I know you can't stop salivating over this titillating 60's fantasy art!

I know you can’t stop salivating over this titillating 60’s fantasy art!

I’m not going to go into all the sordid detail of the books thus far, as where’s the fun in spoiling it, but in all seriousness…this series is 36 books long, so it’s safe to say there’s a lot going on in the world of Xanth.

All I can say is that I’m really happy I got a Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 (with a financial aid grant from school lol) to read them all on, instead of my tiny ass iPhone screen as I had be trying to previously. I’d urgently need glasses (and in short order) if I tried to read them all that way. All in all, it’s a greatly whimsical series to lose yourself in, and I’m looking forward to reading and writing more about his work.

This entry was posted in Books, Reviews, Wendigo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

